February Cowgal Book Club

February Cowgal Book Club

Alright y’all know the drill, this really goes without explaining, but I read some books this month. Let’s get into it.

Ugly Love – Colleen Hoover (Jan 27-28)

Obviously just because I posted the January Book Club blog doesn’t mean I wasn’t going to read for the rest of the month, so enter yet another Colleen Hoover book for January. Let’s just start by saying this, no strings attached NEVER works. Unless you’re heartless or remain extremely intoxicated and detached at all times (if this is you, no shade, all love, but it ain’t me honey). Heartbreak, insecurities, you name it, it’s in this book. I have to say my PTSD from dating a pilot made me struggle with loving any of the guys in this book. Obviously, Miles, the main character is nothing like the POS I dated, but you know who does compare to him? Dillon. The married one who despite the ring on his finger still entertains other women and no that’s not a spoiler, you literally learn that in the first chapter. Anyways, this book was great. Not top five for Colleen books for me great, but still great nonetheless.

Nights in Rodanthe – Nicholas Sparks (Jan 29-31)

For whatever reason I decided that I needed to buy every Nicholas Sparks book ever written to have on my shelf. Growing up my mom was really into him and Jodi Picoult and I used to borrow her books after she finished them, but when I moved out I obviously couldn’t take her books (that’s just wrong), so even though I’ve read a good chunk of both of their books, I decided to order all of them for myself, reread the ones I’ve read, but prioritize the ones I haven’t read. This one was short and sweet, which is why I decided to read it first. I must say that this was not his best book in my opinion and honestly I didn’t love it. One thing I will never discredit about Nicholas Sparks is his writing ability and the amount of detail he includes. There is a reason they’ve successfully turned so many of his books into movies, because they’re DETAILED. The story was written from the perspective of the main character telling her daughter a story and was definitely giving “The Notebook” vibes. It was a great love story and I wasn’t disappointed, but it just wasn’t my favorite of all time.

Regretting You – Colleen Hoover (Jan 31-Feb 8)

February was a hectic month for me so the one to two day reading periods to finish a book didn’t really happen this month. All I can really say about this book is Holy. SHIT. There are no words beyond that. This book might be my new number one by Colleen. If not number one, definitely top three. When I tell you that my jaw dropped every single chapter I’m not kidding. If you came here looking for a book with some tea, sauce or whatever you want to call it – read this book. You. Will. Not. Regret. It. I refuse to drop even a hint of a spoiler so that is all you’re getting from me. Go order it right now.

See Me – Nicholas Sparks (Feb 11-19)

Okay so I ran out of books on my “to read” shelf. Except for this one and two others and I didn’t really feel interested in any of them. So Daniel picked this one for me to read while I waited on my Amazon order to get here. Of course it took me two days to read two chapters because I just could not for the life of me get into this one and then my Amazon order shows up and I’m excited about my new books and as tempted as I was to shelve it and move on, I said NO LEX, we are not doing that shady shit where we don’t finish books. We’ve got to see it through my boy. So I did and whew am I glad I did. Suspenseful thriller with a dash of romance, I was literally not expecting any of it. This is the Nicholas Sparks I love and this book definitely relit my fire to read more of his books. Again, y’all know me, no spoilers, but believe me when I say, the back summary of this book does not even come close to doing this thing justice. Read it.

November 9 – Colleen Hoover (Feb 19-20)

We’re ending the monthly book club in the best way, with my favorite gal, Colleen. I will admit that I was worried about this one. I was getting mixed reviews in my comments on TikTok, but my girl Ashlyn said it was good, so I read it anyways. Of course I loved it. This one was really fast paced because of the way it was written which I appreciated. There is a particular part that I absolutely could’ve done without and AGAIN no spoilers, so once you read it you let me know and we can talk about it. EW. Is all I have to say right now. I love the main character in this book. I felt like while it was a love story it was also a journey of self love, finding confidence and rekindling relationships and I appreciated that. One of the bad reviews I got before reading the book was that it was predictable and you knew how it would end before it even started. I feel like that’s ninety percent of romance novels (so duh), but the fun part is the journey that the characters go on and the things that you learn about them along the way that make them who they are. If you want to read something unpredictable, go read the newspaper…anyways I’ll get off my soap box now. This was a good book, again not top five for me with Colleen Hoover books, but she never disappoints, so it’s worth the read.

If I had to chose one book from this month to recommend it would definitely be Regretting You. See Me is a close second, but Regretting you is a 15/10 recommend, 1000 star rating for me. I know I recommended a Colleen Hoover book last month, but the good news is eventually I’m going to read all of her books and I’m going to have to start recommending other authors. Actually that just made me really sad because I’m die hard over her. Okay anyways, your homework for the month is to read Regretting You and while you do that I’ll read as many books as I can for the March book club and report back.

xoxo, Lex

Leave a comment