April Cowgal Book Club

April Cowgal Book Club

Better late than never is what I’ve been saying lately. Let’s get into it.

Every Summer After – Carley Fortune (April 1-6)

This was my first Carley Fortune book and I guess you could say I’m a fan or whatever. Emily Henry left a review on this book and whatever the queen says, goes. So naturally I read the dang thing and I’m glad I did. I’ve read quite a few books that are this flashback style this year. Also one or two others have been summer/vacation home, young lovers on the lake vibes, but Carley had her own spin on it and let’s just say the tea is a bit…scandalous. Not what I was expecting, but we love that in books. Overall, young love, mistakes, some of our favorite things. I’m officially a Carley Fortune fan, so expect more book reviews for her.

Josh and Hazel’s Guide To Not Dating – Christina Lauren (April 7-14)

Okay, two best friends that vow to never fall in love, what could go wrong? I love the friendship in this book. It was light hearted, funny and sweet in all the right ways. I loved it and I love the personalities they went with for Josh and Hazel. Definitely a fun read, will obviously read again, thank you, next.

Confess – Colleen Hoover (April 15-19)

Okay this book is where my month took a severe turn (for the better). God, I missed you Colleen Hoover. This is what one would call a full circle story. Colleen Hoover’s best with the drama, suspense, family drama and real world scenarios that anyone who reads her books expects at this point. There were so many twists and turns throughout this book and if there’s one thing about Colleen Hoover, she knows how to keep you hooked. Expect the unexpected is all I can really say about this one.

The Love Hypothesis – Ali Hazelwood (April 24-29)

Ali freaking Hazelwood. Where the hell did you come from??? I feel like I was living the main character – Olive’s life. This book is so well written. Ali Hazelwood is an absolute artist with her words. I’ll admit, I fell in love with Adam Carlsen. I love how nerdy the character’s in this book are. I felt like I was back in college, except my college love life was not even remotely this steamy. Lucky them. I love the friendships, the bliss and the drama. My hypothesis is if you read this book, you will not regret it and you’ll love it as much as I do.

The Soulmate Equation – Christina Lauren (April 30)

Yes, you read that correctly, I finished this book in one day. Holy moly, sweet baby Jesus, this is the BEST Christina Lauren book I have read so far and that is saying something because I love all of their books. Read this. You will not regret it.

Okay, this month started out a toss up, but the last three books are just…WOW. Here’s what I’ll say, if you’re a Colleen Hoover fan, read Confess. If Christina Lauren is your jam, read The Soulmate Equation. And if you just love to read about love and want to switch it up, read The Love Hypothesis. They were all so amazing in their own ways, it is literally impossible for me to recommend just one book. I will be reading all three of these again at some point without a doubt. I think if I was forced to place them, The Soulmate Equation then The Love Hypothesis and then Confess would be my order, but read all three and let me know what you think.

xoxo, lex

Leave a comment